Dear John

“There’s so much I want to say to you, but I’m not sure where I should begin. Should I start by telling you that I love you? Or that the days I’ve spent with you have been the happiest in my life? Or that in the short time I’ve known you, I’ve come to believe that we were meant to be together? I could say all those things and all would be true, but as I reread them, all I can think is that I wish I were with you now, holding your hand and watching your elusive smile.”

Always,

Luna

Oh wait a minute! it wasn’t me who wrote this letter. It was actually Savannah’s for John Tyree (Channing Tatum), a 23-year-old soldier who was on US Army SF leave for two weeks. It is a kind of story of a boy meets girl, girl loses boy, times passes, things change. He meets Savannah Curtis (Amanda Seyfried) after he dives into the ocean to retrieve Savannah’s purse that had fallen off the pier. John is smitten by Savannah and falls in love at first sight. Savannah is a college student at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is on spring break and is helping build a house for Habitat for Humanity. John joins in with Savannah to help build the house. Along the way a budding romance occurs, and Savannah falls deeply in love with John. As she is about to go back to college, she promises to write John overseas during the next 12-months until he returns to her after completing his enlistment.

“Two weeks together. That’s all it took. Two weeks for me to fall for you. Now we have one year apart. But that’s all it’ll take. And what’s one year apart, after two weeks like that together? You told me you wanted to make me promises. Promises you’d keep. But I only want one promise from you, during this year we spend apart. Tell me everything. Write it all down, John. Scribble it in a notebook. Type it out. Email it to me. I don’t care. But want to know everything.

What would you do with a letter that changed everything? Are you a promise keeper or a promise breaker? John takes all 112 of Savannah’s letters and dumps them out loose on the ground. What had been a carefully organized chronological stack is now just a messy pile. John pulls out the flint and magnesium block from his pocket and starts to shave the magnesium off over the letters. It is a story that begs the question ‘what if…?’. What if you took a different path in life? Would you still end up at the same destination? What if you made the wrong choice? Would you live to regret it? And what about the tougher questions, like how long would you wait for the one you love? Can love survive the distance?

Here’s the letter that John wrote and read while his father was in the hospital:

“There’s something I want to tell you. After I got shot… you want to know the very first thing that entered my mind? Before I blacked out? Coins. I’m 8 years old again, on a tour of the US Mint. I’m listening to a guy explain how coins are made: how they’re punched out of sheet metal, how they’re rimmed and beveled, how they are stamped and cleaned. And how each and every batch of coins are personally examined… just in case any of them slip through with the slightest imperfections. That’s what popped into my head. I am a coin in the United States Army. I was minted in the year 1980. I’ve been punched from sheet metal. I’ve been stamped and cleaned, and my ridges have been rimmed and beveled. And now I have two small holes in me; I’m no longer in perfect condition. So there’s something else I want to tell you – right before everything went black, you want to know the very last thing that entered my mind? You.”

Coz you know, I am just pretending to transcribe a movie.: )

3 thoughts on “Dear John

Leave a Reply

